Map Locations
  Name Description Added by
Caitlin Pierzchalski


Name: Caitlin Pierzchalski

Location: Currently, I'm living in Burnaby, BC, traditional and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish),  Sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh), and Kwikwetlem (kwikwəƛ̓ əm) Nations. But originally, I'm from Penticton BC, traditional territory of the Sylix/Okanagan Nation.

What gets me up in the morning
: Coffee(!), cuddles from my cute kitty who needs snacks, and stoke for a day of learning and community/environmental stewardship!

A bit about me: I love sharing with this community and learning from our combined knowledge! I live for the social and environmental responsibility that stems from work in environmental stewardship. Seeing ourselves as stewards of this world really changes how we asses our impacts and our positive actions as well. The oceans have always been one of my biggest teachers in this and I am so happy to always be learning and humbled. I'm a bit of an adrenaline junky... trad climbing anyone? And sometimes, I teach a little yoga too!

Tell us something random about yourself:
Someone I'm really inspired by is Margo Hayes... she's so full of hard work and humility. 

Caitlin Pierzchalski    
Jasveen Brar

Name : Jasveen Brar

Location: I grew up exploring the prairies and rockies on in Medicine Hat, AB (the traditional territory of the Siksika). I recently moved to the traditional territory of Algonquin nation in Ottawa. As the traveller I am, I will soon be moving to Halifax (the traditional territory of the M'ikmaq) where I also did my undergrad at Dalhousie University.

What gets me up in the morning:  Coffee! 

A bit about me: I'm really interested in exploring the intersection between science, education and policy and how youth can better access these spaces. Growing up in Alberta I always found the Oceans to be this mysterious thing, my earliest connections with the oceans where through books and film. It wasn't until I moved to Halifax for my undergrad that I developed a personal connection with it. Living in a land locked province also allowed me to better understand that although we may not be on a coast, we do influence what happens in the oceans. I'm excited to be a part of Ocean Bridge team to support and learn more about the incredible things youth are doing from coast to coast to coast. 

Tell us something random about yourself: My passions for the environment and oceans have taken me around the world! I've swam in both Polar oceans, my goal is to swim in every body of water. 

Jasveen Brar    
Kaitlyn Harris

Name : Kaitlyn Harris
Pronouns:
She/Her
Location: I'm currently living in a small town near Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, traditional and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq People. I grew up not far from here, in a small fishing village further down along the South Shore (Clyde River, Nova Scotia).

What gets me up in the morning:  My pup who is usually keen to get outside for a run-around, the crowing of my (very noisy) chickens and, of course, coffee! 

A bit about me: I'm a firm believer that communities are stronger and more resilient when young people are involved and taking on meaningful roles, which is why I'm so excited to be a part of the Ocean Bridge Team and to do my part to mobilize and empower youth-led action. I have a background in Geography and Marine Management and am particularly interested in exploring the interface between education, management, and community. I'm fired-up by the shared sense of responsibility we all have for caring for this Earth and I'm excited to learn from all of us who are part of the Ocean Bridge community and beyond. Aside from my love for the ocean, I'm also interested in homesteading, trail running, mountain biking and rock climbing! 

Tell us something random about yourself: My favourite way to explore is from the seat of my bicycle. My goal is to cross all the major mountain ranges by the power of my pedals. Up next: Himalayas. 

Kaitlyn Harris    
Mo Phung


Name: Mo Phung, Community Specialist

Pronouns: She/Her

Location:  I live in Mi'kma'ki, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq People / K'jipuktuk (Halifax). I grew up in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.  

What gets me up in the morning : 
Java Blend coffee, creating with others and working with Ocean Bridge and Oceans Week HFX.

A bit about me:

Ocean-related issues close to my heart are: social, climate and environmental justice for all. 
I'm excited to be a part of Ocean Bridge because: I get the opportunity to work with folx from all over this nation, and beyond, who share a passion for ocean education. 

Tell us something random about yourself: I can hold my breath underwater for two minutes... aiming for longer someday!

Connect with me!
Email: [email protected]
Instagram: @mophung 

Monica Phung    
Stephanie Foucault

Name: Stephanie Foucault

Pronouns: She/Her

Location: I am currently living in Vancouver BC, the traditional and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish),  Sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations. I was born and raised in Sudbury ON, the traditional territory of the Atikameksheng Anishnaabeg in Robinson-Huron Treaty territory.

What gets me up in the morning: 
My fur babies waiting for their breakfast, the beautiful Vancouver scenery, and making a difference in the world around me! I am really looking forward to building connections and helping you on your journey to become incredible ocean leaders!

A bit about me: 
I am the Program Specialist in Outreach and Education for the Pacific cohort. From LGBTQ+ advocacy, service dog accessibility, climate justice, and ocean literacy, my experience in outreach and education varies greatly. My most recent experience as an educator involved presenting exotic animals to public groups ranging from schools, senior homes, and birthday parties. 

Since I grew up in a landlocked community, my interest in ocean conservation started much later in life, but I've always had a connection with freshwater growing up in the city of lakes. As a 2018 Ocean Bridge Alumni, I owe so much of who I have become to Ocean Bridge and I truly hope you get as much from this program as I did! I am also a graduate student at the Institute of Oceans and Fisheries (IOF) at UBC and would be happy to chat about my Thesis on ending IUU fishing in the high seas! 

Tell us something random about yourself: I love all things Marvel! If I'm not in the office, you can probably find me at home watching the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Go Captain America!

Stephanie Foucault    
Taylor Jones-Arason

NameTaylor Jones-Arason

LocationOriginally from Cypress River MB, but moved to Carberry (which isn't very far away) for work. Carberry resides in Treaty 1 territory which is home to the Chippewa and Swampy Cree Tribes!   

What gets me up in the morning: Usually coffee and wet kisses from my dog, but the environment is pretty cool too I guess :P

A bit about me: I got interested in the environment during my time camping as a kid and spending most days outdoors in the pasture playing knights, building tree forts and doing mischievous kid things with my buds. My passion for protecting what's close to home really came about in my second year of university, as I struggled to find something I really wanted to learn about. I eventually chose to get a degree in the Environmental Sciences and took a bunch of classes in biology because evolution is pretty neat you know. A fun fact about me is that I was actually part of the 2018 cohort that went to Haida Gwaii and will be working with the Pacific Cohort this year as we go back to the enchanting isles. 

My passion for the ocean more or less started out as curiosity because I'm from a land-locked community and I hadn't had the opportunity to actually see the ocean until Oceanbridge came along. I learned a lot about the oceans during my time in school, but it's hard to truly understand the importance of something if you've never actually seen or experienced it yourself.

Tell us something random about yourself: I hate tomatoes!

Also I'm interested in a lot of things (Music, Gaming, Neature, Hiking, Carpentry, etc), so feel free to strike up a conversation with me about anything really. 

Taylor Jones-Arason    
Zana Mody

Name: Zana Mody

Location: I'm newly living in Vancouver, traditional and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish),  Sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh), and Kwikwetlem (kwikwəƛ̓ əm) Nations. I previously lived in Peterborough (Nogojiwanong, an Anishinaabe word meaning "at the foot of the rapids"), the traditional territory of the Michi Saagig people of Treaty # 20. I also immigrated to Canada at the age of 12, from the state of Gujarat, India. 

What gets me up in the morning
: A warm cup of spicy chai or coffee, some yoga and getting to work with dedicated people on conservation issues in this beautiful part of the world! 

A bit about me:

I'm an interdisciplinary person by nature who is super passionate about socio-ecology and learning about human-nature systems in both terrestrial and aquatic environments. It just made sense for me to study both science and social sciences, including biology, ecology, and anthropology for my undergrad and graduate studies! I've conducted fieldwork all across Asia, Canada, and Central America - ask me anything about academic research projects. My other favourite ways to learn and explore include travelling, learning languages, cooking, and reading. 

 I also teach and perform many styles of Latin dance, including salsa, bachata, and samba! I love all kinds of rhythm and movement really, both indoors and out - chat with me anytime about hiking, rock climbing, cycling, canoe tripping, and yoga.  A certifiable nature nerd, you can usually find me birding, foraging for mushrooms and plants, and generally rambling around outdoors.

Tell us something random about yourself:
I grew up in a desert and have lived for many years without consistent running water or electricity in India and Ghana - and really appreciate how fortunate we are here to have access to water based resources - and how critical it is to share and protect them. 

Zana Mody